FIFA World Cup 2022: Sadio Mane is likely to miss the marquee event following major injury

Sadio Mane likely to miss the FIFA World Cup following his injury while Croatia announced their squad for the marquee event

Rohit Kumar
New Update
Sadio Mane

Sadio Mane

Senegalese forward Sadio Mane is likely to miss the FIFA World Cup 2022 after the player injured his tendon while representing Bayern Munich against Werder Bremen on Tuesday, 8th November. The 30-year-old limped off in the 20th minute of the match with German winger Leroy Sane replacing him.

Now, with just two weeks remaining for the marquee event, it is believed that the forward won’t be able to recover in due course and might just be a spectator at the global event.

As per the French magazine L’Equipe, the footballer is likely to be out for several weeks. Even though his injury wasn’t looking serious at first but the doctors considered it to be serious after a few examinations.

“He took a knock to the head of his tibia. It's always uncomfortable. He has to have an X-ray. I hope nothing is wrong. I didn't see him after the game, I hope it's not a big injury. But I don't know at the moment. We'll see tomorrow and then give an update,” his Bayern boss was quoted after their massive 6-1 win over Werder Bremen.

Croatia announce their squad for FIFA World Cup

After losing the final against France in the 2018 FIFA World Cup, the Luka Modric-led side will be charged up to win their maiden trophy in 2022. With that goal in mind, coach Zlatko Dalic announced his 26-men squad, featuring all the possible stars available.

With Mario Mandzukich’s retirement, the team looks short in experience at the top. Meanwhile, Southampton defender Duje Caleta-Car has been excluded after being named to the provisional squad.

Former Liverpool defenders Dejan Lovren and Josko Gvardiol will be at the heart of the defence for Croatia. Captain Luka Modric along with Mateo Kovacic and Marcelo Brozovic will take charge in the mid-field while Ivan Perisic along with Andrej Kramaric will be responsible for the goals.


Dominik Livakovic, Ivica Ivusic, Ivo Grbic


Dejan Lovren, Domagoj Vida, Borna Barisic, Josip Juranovic, Borna Sosa, Josip Stanisic, Martin Erlic, Josip Sutalo, Josko Gvardiol


Luka Modric, Mateo Kovacic, Marcelo Brozovic, Mario Pasalic, Nikola Vlasic, Lovro Majer, Kristijan Jakic, Luka Sucic


Ivan Perisic, Andrej Kramaric, Bruno Petkovic, Mislav Orsic, Ante Budimir, Marko Livaja