'Haan, yeh krlo pehle' - Australia announce ODI squad against India, recall David Warner and Ashton Agar

David Warner, who was ruled out of the Test series due to injury, has also been included in Australia's ODI squad

Rohit Kumar
Feb 23, 2023 05:25 IST
New Update
Australia Cricket Team (Source - Twitter)

Australia Cricket Team (Source - Twitter)

Australia announced their squad for the three-match ODI series against India starting on March 17. Star players like Glenn Maxwell and Mitchell Marsh have returned to the squad. Meanwhile, Australian Test captain Pat Cummins will be seen leading the ODI team too and it will be just his second ODI series as a skipper.

Talking about star allrounder Maxwell, he has recently recovered from his horrible leg injury and Marsh is also fit after his ankle injury. Last week, both of these players were seen playing in the domestic tournament. The return of these two veterans will strengthen the Australian team.

Most of the players included in Australia's ODI squad are currently part of the Test series on the tour of India. 9 players out of Australia's 16-member ODI squad are currently in India. David Warner, who was ruled out of the Test series due to injury, has also been included in Australia's ODI squad and allrounder Ashton Agar, who was sent back home without even playing a single Test match, has got a place in the ODI team.

The ODI series is likely to be more competitive than the Test series

Cummins also returned home after the second Test due to a serious family illness but is likely to return ahead of the third Test on March 1. Warner got injured in Delhi Test while batting in the first innings and was subbed out with a concussion. He was replaced by Matt Renshaw. Agar was benched in the first two Tests and was asked to return back to home without even playing.

The first match of the ODI series between India and Australia will be played in Mumbai on 17 March. The second ODI will be played in Visakhapatnam on March 19 and the third match in Chennai on March 22. All three matches will be day-night and will start at 1.30 pm.

Australia ODI squad: Pat Cummins (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Here's how fans reacted:

#David Warner #IND vs AUS