'Tum World Cup rakho, hum bilateral jeet kar khush hai' - Fans react as India bags last-over thriller by six runs against Australia in fifth T20I

In the fifth T20I between India and Australia, the Asian side entered with a mission to beat the Aussies by 4-1 in the series, having won three games in the series.

Mathew K
New Update
India players celebrating a wicket

India players celebrating a wicket (Image Credit: Twitter)

In the fifth T20I and the last game of the series,  India and Australia locked horns at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru. Ahead of the game, the home team had already grabbed the series with a 3-1. On the other hand, the visitors were looking to avoid the shame of 4-1 defeat. Meanwhile, once again the Aussies won the toss and elected to bowl first.

They had a decent start with the ball before Jason Behrendorff got beaten in the fourth over. However, the left-arm pacer has the last laugh with the wicket of Yashasvi Jaiswal. In the next over, Ben Dwarshius removed Ruturaj Gaikwad. The former T20 World Cup champions, Australia kept taking wickets and reduced the 2007 winners to 97/5.

Thanks to the Shreyas Iyer's 53 off 37 balls including five fours and two sixes helped the team reach a fighting total of 160/8. For the Green Brigade, the likes of Behrendorff and Dwarshius took two wickets each. On the other hand, Aaron Hardie, Nathan Ellis, and Tanveer Sangha took one apiece.

India win a last-over thriller to bag the series 4-1

In reply, the Aussies had a great start and looked like they would finish the game with a few overs left. However, the bowlers managed to keep it cool throughout the game. Even though Travis Head (28) provided a great start, the team lost three wickets for 55 runs. Ben McDermott (54) kept the team in the game despite no other batters not doing enough.

However, at 116/4, the team lost the wicket of Ben and it turned out to be a game-changer. Even though skipper Matthew Wade (22) scored quick runs down the order, the Indian bowlers' brilliance meant that the home side won by six runs. Arshdeep Singh and Mukesh Kumar managed to eck out a small win to help the team win the series 4-1. The former took two wickets and Ravi Bishnoi did the same. Kumar took three wickets while Axar Patel took one.

This is how Twitter reacted