IPL 2024 schedule is out, MS Dhoni led CSK to face RCB in the opener at Chepauk

The wait is over as the schedule for 2024 IPL is out. The first match of IPL 2024 will be played between two of the most loved teams of the IPL-  Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore in Chennai.

Sarah Andrew
New Update
IPL 2024

IPL 2024

The two-month-long festival of India is set to start from March 22 and the schedule for the first 17 days and 21 matches has been announced by the Indian Cricket Board. The first match of IPL 2024 will be played between two of the most loved teams of the IPL-  Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore at the M.A Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. 

It feels like yesterday when Ravindra Jadeja hit the last ball of the match for a boundary to take CSK over the line in an edge-of-the-seat final. It was presumed to be MSD's last outing in the IPL but MSD has some tricks up his sleeves for his opponents and we will see it again form March 22. 

The first day of the tournament will be followed by a doubleheader. Delhi Capitals will be against the Punjab Kings in the day game which will be followed by Kolkata Knight Riders and Sunrisers Hyderabad in the evening. 

Mumbai will face Gujarat in their first game

Mumbai Indians shook the fans even before the IPL by pulling one of the biggest trade deals in the history of IPL when they got Hardik Pandya from Gujarat back in their reigns and named him as the captain of the franchise. 

Hardik Pandya had a great outing with Gujarat as he led them to their maiden title in their first season in 2022 and took them to the finals in the subsequent season. But his shocking trade back to Mumbai must have left a sour taste in the mouth of Gujarat fans. The whole fiasco has created a new rivalry between both the teams and it will be exciting to see them against each other in their first games.

Only the first 17-day schedule has been announced yet and the remaining will be announced once the dates of the Lok Sabha elections are out. Delhi will play their first two home matches in Vizag as the capital will not be ready due to elections.  The first phase of the world’s most exciting T20 league is out and the tournament is nearing the excitement among the fans is palpable.

Here is the schedule for the first two weeks

Date Matchup Venue Time
March 22 CSK vs RCB Chennai 8 pm IST
March 23 PBKS vs DC Mohali 3:30 pm IST
March 23 KKR vs SRH Kolkata 7:30 pm IST
March 24 RR vs LSG Jaipur 3:30 pm IST
March 24 GT vs MI Ahmedabad 7:30 pm IST
March 25 RCB vs PBKS Bengaluru 7:30 pm IST
March 26 CSK vs GT Chennai 7:30 pm IST
March 27 SRH vs MI Hyderabad 7:30 pm IST
March 28 RR vs DC Jaipur 7:30 pm IST
March 29 RCB vs KKR Bengaluru 7:30 pm IST
March 30 LSG vs PBKS Lucknow 7:30 pm IST
March 31 GT vs SRH Ahmedabad 3:30 pm IST
March 31 DC vs CSK Visakhapatnam 7:30 pm IST
April 1 MI vs RR Mumbai 7:30 pm IST
April 2 RCB vs LSG Bengaluru 7:30 pm IST
April 3 DC vs KKR Visakhapatnam 7:30 pm IST
April 4 GT vs PBKS Ahmedabad 7:30 pm IST
April 5 SRH vs CSK Hyderabad 7:30 pm IST
April 6 RR vs RCB Jaipur 7:30 pm IST
April 7 MI vs DC Mumbai 3:30 pm IST
April 7 LSG vs GT Lucknow 7:30 pm IST