Team-wise, players with the most 'Player of the Match' awards in IPL history

Check out the IPL heroes with the most player of the match awards for each team and get more about their unmatched brilliance and legacy in the history of the Indian Premier League.

Sarah Andrew
New Update
AB de Villiers and MS Dhoni (Source - X).png

AB de Villiers and MS Dhoni (Source - X)

The 17th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is set to start on March 22, between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), in Chennai. Both teams have an amazing fan following and some great players. The entire 17 season of the IPL has seen some brilliant performances from the players and has kept the tournament alive for a long time. 

When the players' performances come to light, the first thing that comes to mind is each player's Player of the Match award won. Of all the players, AB de Villiers has won the POTM award 23 times, which is the most by any player in the IPL. He had been an important part of the RCB team ever since he joined the team. 

Let's look at the players who have gotten the most Player of the Match awards in IPL.

10. Marcus Stoinis - Lucknow Super Giants

Marcus Stoinis (Source - X).png

Since the Lucknow Super Giants are new to the tournament, Marcus Stoinis is the player with the most POTM awards, 3. In the previous season, he played an amazing innings of 89 runs which helped the LSG team post 177 runs on the board. However, they went on to win the match against MI by just five runs. Thus, Stoinis knock saved the team and he got the POTM award. 

9. Shubman Gill - Gujarat Titans

Shubman Gill (Source - X).png

Gujarat Titans are set to play for the third season in the IPL. Thus, their present captain Shubman Gill is the one who has won the POTM maximum times which is 6. He had been in incredible form in the last IPL season and smashed the bowlers whenever he got a chance. Moreover, his contribution to the team was extremely important in most of the matches. 

8. Virender Sehwag - Delhi Capitals

Virender Sehwag (Source - X).png

For the Delhi Capitals, Virender Sehwag has won 10 POTMs. There were quite a lot of instances where his team needed him the most and he performed well. He has two centuries in the IPL and also has played some amazing knocks in the qualifiers. 

7. KL Rahul - Punjab Kings

KL Rahul (Source - X).png

The Punjab Kings had one of the best players in the IPL in the form of KL Rahul. In the tournament, Rahul has more than 3200 runs and 10 POTMs. Moreover, he played some brilliant knocks for the Punjab team when he was with them. He left the team in the year 2022. 

6. Jos Buttler - Rajasthan Royals

Jos Buttler (Source - X).png

Whenever Rajasthan Royals had any difficult situations, Jos Buttler was always present to help them. He has won 10 Player of the Match awards for the Royals. Moreover, in the last IPL, RR set a score of 203 runs in the 5th match with Butlers 54 runs off just 22 balls including seven fours and three sixes. 

5. David Warner - Sunrisers Hyderabad

David Warner (Source - X).png

David Warner, who was the most consistent player for SRH, has won 12 POTMS while he was with them. In 2016, when SRH won the IPL, it was Warner who had supported them throughout the tournament. His extraordinary batting performances and brilliant captaincy were the reason behind their win. 

4. Andre Russell - Kolkata Knight Riders

Andre Russel (Source - X).png

Kolkata Knight Riders always benefited from Andre Russel's presence in the team. Be it batting or bowling, Russel's all-round performance helped KKR win a lot of matches. So far, the power-hitter West Indian has won 13 POTMs in IPL. 

3. MS Dhoni - Chennai Super Kings

MS Dhoni (Source - X).png

CSK's most successful captain, MS Dhoni has won 15 POTMs, which is the highest for the team. He has been with us since 2008 and has played almost all the matches. His contributions as a batter and as a captain have been quite valuable for the team. Under his captaincy, CSK has won five IPL trophies and they can win many more before he retires. 

2. Kieron Pollard - Mumbai Indians

Kieron Pollard (Source - X).png

Mumbai India's Most Valuable Player, Kieron Pollard, started his IPL journey with the MI team in 2010 and until he retired, he won 16 Player of the Match awards. In most of the qualifiers, Pollard has contributed either with the bat or with the ball.

1. AB de Villiers

AB de Villiers (Source - X).png

AB de Villiers has won the most POTMs by any player in the IPL, 23. He has played some brilliant knocks in the IPL, but the knock against the Gujarat Lions in the 2016 qualifiers will be the knock of the tournament forever. RCB had lost four quick wickets in the qualifier 1 when AB came in and helped the team reach a respectable score. Moreover, they went on to win the match as well. 

IPL 2024