'Khatam hogya kya match' - Fans react as final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy ends in a draw

India clinch the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2-1 against Australia and will be lifting the trophy for the fourth consecutive time

Rohit Kumar
New Update
Steve Smith and Rohit Sharma

Steve Smith and Rohit Sharma (Source - Twitter)

The last and fourth Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy resulted in a draw. Travis Head and Marnus Labuschagne successfully weathered the last day, thanks to Australia's play-it-safe strategy.

In order to drive for the victory, India needed wickets, but Head and Labuschagne resisted the spin onslaught. Both individuals made significant contributions and stitched a 139-run partnership for the second wicket. Head fell short of a century, while Labuschagne and captain Steve Smith compiled an undefeated 63-run partnership.

How did the first innings between the two sides pan out?

Australia scored 480 in the first innings of the game because of a few great partnerships involving Usman Khawaja. He shared an impressive 180-run partnership along with Cameron Green, who smacked his first Test hundred during the fourth Test. This partnership made sure that Australia posted a strong total for the visitors. 

Shubman Gill ensured that he made his pesence known in Test cricket as well. He scored a magnificent hundred and put pressure on the Indian Team management to play him in the World Test Championship final in June at the Oval.

Virat Kohli also finally recorded a hundred in a Test after 1205 days and he achieved this feat at the Narendra Modi Stadium. The right-hander reached the three-figure mark by hitting Nathan Lyon for a single and helping India regain the lead in the first innings.

A collapse by either team in the fourth Test appeared to be quite unlikely, thus resulting in a draw. India have won the Border Gavaskar Trophy for the fourth time in a row.

Here's how Fans reacted to India winning the Border Gavaskar Trophy again : -

India Virat Kohli Sri Lanka New Zealand Australia Steve Smith Shubman Gill Marnus Labuschagne India vs Australia 2023 Travis Head