'Kyun achhe gaane ki band baja rha hai Iyer' - Fans in splits as Shreyas Iyer sings Kailash Kher's popular song

Here's how fans reacted after Shreyas Iyer tried to sing an iconic song 'Saiyaan' by Kailash Kher with his friends.

Rohit Kumar
New Update
Shreyas Iyer and Kailash Kher (Source - Twitter)

Shreyas Iyer and Kailash Kher (Source - Twitter)

India’s middle-order batter Shreyas Iyer is currently suffering from a back injury, however, he underwent surgery and currently recovering from it. Iyer injured his back during the Border-Gavaskar Trophy earlier this year due to which he also missed out the recently concluded World Test Championship (WTC) 2023 final and was replaced by Ajinkya Rahane.

Meanwhile, a video is getting viral on social media where Iyer can be seen chilling with his friends. He also tried to sing an iconic song ‘Saiyaan’ by Kailash Kher while sitting in a hotel room. The video was shared by Lucknow Super Giants on their Twitter handle with a caption, which says, “We’re sorry, Kailash Kher.”

Watch the video here:

Meanwhile, Iyer, who was expected to make his comeback on the cricket field, is reportedly to take more time to recover. Reports suggest the India batter might not be fit in time for the Asia Cup 2023, putting his ODI World Cup dreams in jeopardy. The Asia Cup 2023 is likely to kick off on August 31 and will be played in Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

Will Iyer take part in ODI World Cup 2023?

Iyer also missed the recently concluded 16th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) after which Nitish Rana was given the captaincy of the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR). The 2-time champions definitely felt Iyer’s absence as they were unable to qualify for the playoffs and finished at the 7th position with 12 points in 14 matches.

Iyer will also miss the upcoming India tour of the West Indies. The Indian team management has selected Sanju Samson as their middle-order batter in the ODI format. While, in Tests, young batters like Yashasvi Jaiswal and Ruturaj Gaikwad will be seen playing in the middle order in the Test series.

India’s Test squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Navdeep Saini.

India ODI squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Sanju Samson (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya (vc), Shardul Thakur, R Jadeja, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik, Mukesh Kumar. 

Here’s how fans reacted:

Shreyas Iyer India Asia Cup 2023