Cricket Governing Body announces team of tournament for ODI World Cup 2023, know the players list

Some players delivered some phenomenal individual performances across seven weeks of top-class games of international cricket. The Cricket Governing Body has announced the team of the tournament. 

Sarah Andrew
New Update
ODI World Cup XI

Cricket Governing Body announces team of the tournament

The ODI World Cup 2023 has been a lot of fun and excitement. The competition concluded with Australia winning their sixth title after beating India in the final at the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad. After 48 matches, all 10 teams have delivered several spectacular performances, with their players going above and beyond to ensure that the huge event is a wonderful experience for all spectators. 

Australia outplayed India in the final as they chased down the target of 241 runs. Rohit Sharma's side won 10 matches in the tournament and played a brilliant game of cricket in each match. The bowlers and batters performed exceptionally well in the competition covering all their grounds. Australians made a sensational comeback in the tournament after losing the first two games. 

Some players delivered some phenomenal individual performances across seven weeks of top-class games of international cricket. The Cricket Governing Body has announced the best combined XI and the 12th man for the tournament. 

Here's the World Cup 2023 team of the tournament

12. Gerald Coetzee

Gerald Coetzee

In the absence of Anrich Nortje, South Africa needed a spark in their bowling attack, which Gerald Coetzee provided. He took the opportunity and became his team's highest wicket-taker in a single World Cup, with an excellent record of 20 wickets at an average of 19.80. He has taken wickets in the middle overs and made an impact in each of the competition matches he played. 

11. Mohammed Shami

Mohammed Shami

Mohammed Shami was not initially named to the XI for team India. But since his return the pace star has proven to be the side's most consistent performer. Shami kicked off his competition with a five-wicket haul against New Zealand. He picked one four-fer and a three-fifer. The pacer has taken 24 wickets in total and is the leading wicket-taker with an average of 10.70 and an economy of 5.26. 

10. Adam Zampa

Adam Zampa

Australia did not bring any other spinner other than Adam Zampa and the leg-spinner showed his class in the league stages and was the key to Aussies' success in the competition. He grabbed 23 wickets at an average of 22.39 and had three consecutive four-wicket hauls in the league stage, including an exceptional spell of 4/8 against the Netherlands.

9. Dilshan Madushanka

Dilshan Madushanka

Dilshan Madushanka was the only bowler from Sri Lanka who performed excellently in the tournament. The left-arm pacer picked 21 wickets and is on the list of the top five wicket-takers list though his country failed to qualify for the knockouts. He bowled exceptionally with the new ball and struggled with the star batters in the tournament. 

8. Jasprit Bumrah 

Jasprit Bumrah

Jasprit Bumrah has been excellent since his return to the side. He has bowled the most dot balls in the tournament bowling 372 dots in 11 matches as the pacer led the Indian bowling attack. He is the fourth-highest wicket-taker picking 20 wickets at an average of 18.65 and an economy of 4.06. 

7. Ravindra Jadeja 

Ravindra Jadeja

Ravindra Jadeja has performed exceptionally in the 2023 World Cup. He has been the tournament's top spin-bowling all-rounder. The star batter has scored 120 runs at an average of 40.00. The bowler picked 16 wickets in 11 matches with an average of 24.87 and an economy of 4.25. He currently holds the record for the most wickets by an Indian spinner in a single edition of the tournament. 

6. Glenn Maxwell

Glenn Maxwell

Glenn Maxwell has been the turning point for Australia's qualification as the all-rounder played two great knocks in the mega event. The best knock of the ODI history came against Afghanistan at Wankhede Stadium, where they were 91/7 Maxwell played an unbeaten knock of 201 runs and chased the target of 292 runs smashing 21 fours and 10 sixes.

5. KL Rahul

KL Rahul

KL Rahul has played brilliantly since his return to the side after the prolonged injury. He kept the wickets exceptionally well for the Men in Blue providing Rohit Sharma the clarity about the DRS in between the games. The Karnataka-born batter has scored 452 runs in 11 matches with an average of 75.33. 

4. Daryl Mitchell

Daryl Mitchell

Daryl Mitchell has been in great form in the middle order for New Zealand. He scored two hundreds in the tournament both against India. Mitchell in the semi-final almost won it for the Kiwis as he played a knock of 134 runs in the knockout but was unable to take his team through to the final. He scored 552 runs in nine innings coming at an average of 69 in 10 matches. 

3. Virat Kohli 

Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli has been named the player of the tournament as the former India skipper scored three centuries and six fifties scoring 765 runs at an average of 95.62 and breaking several records. He surpassed the great Sachin Tendulkar's 49 ODI century, he went on to score 50 in the semi-final against New Zealand. The batter has not scored fifties twice in 11 games. 

2. Rohit Sharma (captain)

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma has been brilliant in the tournament his captaincy also was excellent during the competition. He used to set the tone at the top of the order for the hosts, hitting 597 runs at an average of 54.27 with a strike rate of 125.94. He has made good bowling changes and kept the opposition under pressure and as a result, he has been chosen as the skipper. 

1. Quinton de Kock

Quinton de Kock

Quinton de Kock will bid an international farewell to ODI as the 2023 World Cup has come to an end. He has been the most important player for the Proteas as he is the highest run scorer for his side and third highest in the tournament. He scored four centuries and tied with Kumar Sangakkara's record of scoring most centuries in a single edition. The wicket-keeper batter scored 594 runs with an average of 59.40. 

Adam Zampa Mohammed Shami Rohit Sharma Quinton de Kock Glenn Maxwell featured Jasprit Bumrah Virat Kohli