PSL 2024: Top 5 Highest Wicket Takers in PSL

In PSL history, there have been bowlers have risen to the top, ruthlessly destroying opposing batting lineups with precision and skill. Check out the top five(5) Highest Wicket Takers in the Pakistan Premier League.

Sarah Andrew
New Update
Top 5 Highest Wicket Takers in PSL

Top 5 Highest Wicket Takers in PSL

The Pakistan Super League (PSL) 9th season began in a big fashion. The event has swiftly become one of the world's most popular cricket leagues, with batsmen and bowlers delivering some of the most memorable innings in recent years. The PSL has gained in popularity in recent years, being the second most-watched T20 competition, trailing only the Indian Premier competition (IPL). In the tournament's first two days, there have already been some high-scoring contests.

In T20 cricket, hitters have played a significant part in winning games for their teams. In PSL history, there have been bowlers have risen to the top, ruthlessly destroying opposing batting lineups with precision and skill. Whether with blistering pace, excellent spin, or deft variations, these bowlers have constantly challenged batters and changed games in their favour. Their ability to consistently take wickets, often in critical circumstances, has made them vital assets to their respective franchises, adding to the league's allure.

There are six teams in total, and each of them wants to win the coveted trophy. The lies of Babar Azam, Shaheen Shah Afridi, and others have lightened the league in Pakistan. During the game, there were also some beautiful on-field encounters among cricketers. In the article, we will be looking for the highest wicket-takers in PSL history 

Here are the top 5 Highest Wicket Takers in PSL

5. Faheem Ashraf

Faheem Ashraf has been a decent all-rounder in the T20 circuit in Pakistan. The bowling all-rounder is known for his cameo innings towards the end of the innings. Ashraf represents Islamabad United in the PSL, surprisingly the bowler ranks 5th in the list of the highest wicket-taker as the medium pacer picked 72 wickets in 62 games in the league at an average of 23.93. He also has one five wicket haul to his name. 

4. Shadab Khan 

Shadab Khan captains Islamabad United in the PSL. His form and consistency have been a problem but the talent and skills he possesses make him a match-winner on his day. Shadab's team has won one game and lost one in the current season, with the skipper playing a role with the bat in the first match. But in the history of the PSL the leg-spinner lists 4th in the highest wicket-takers list with 79 wickets in 74 games with an economy of under 8. 

3. Shaheen Shah Afridi

Shaheen Shah Afridi has been the finest bowler for the Men in Green. The 23-year-old has been one of the dangerous bowlers in the PSL, with the ability to destroy any team's batters with his early swing in the innings. Shaheen is the captain of the franchise named Lahore Qalandars and under his leadership only they won their 2nd title in the PSL in the 2022 edition. The bowler's knack of picking wickets lists him 3rd in the highest wicket-taker ranks with 90 wickets under his belt. 

2. Hasan Ali

Hasan Ali was one of the most promising bowlers for the Pakistan side. But his injury concerns and lack of consistency have led to the downfall of the pacer. The speedster has been a regular choice for franchise cricket in the PSL, he has played for three franchises, Islamabad United, Peshawar Zalmi and Karachi Kings. The 29-year-old pacer has shocking performances in PSL history as he ranks 2nd in the highest wicket-taker list with 97 wickets to his name. 

1. Wahab Riaz 

Wahab Riaz has retired from all forms of cricket, but the left-arm seamer was a treat to watch when he was in full flow. Wahab's fiery spell against Australia in the 2015 World Cup will be remembered for generations. He has played for Peshawar Zalmi in the PSL league and is the highest wicket-taker in the history of the PSL with 113 wickets in 88 games he has played for the franchise. 

Shaheen Shah Afridi Shadab Khan Hasan Ali