'Retirement lene ki asli wajah' - Fans react as Ambati Rayudu set to play for Texas Super Kings in MLC 2023

Ambati Rayudu announced that he would be playing for the Texas Super Kings on Twitter. Here's how fans reacted.

Rohit Kumar
New Update
Ambati Rayudu

Ambati Rayudu (Source: Twitter)

Ambati Rayudu had declared his retirement during the summit match prior to the IPL 2023 championship game between the Chennai Super Kings and Gujarat Titans. Rayudu announced his retirement from all forms of Indian cricket in a lengthy, emotive post on social media after collecting the trophy, which was an emotional event for the seasoned Indian hitter. 16 days following this declaration, Rayudu has declared that he will represent the CSK-owned Texas Super Kings (TSK) in the inaugural season of Major League Cricket in the United States.

TSK released their list of six international players for the inaugural MLC season, and Rayudu joins a star-studded group that includes Devon Conway and Mitchell Santner, two of his CSK teammates from the successful IPL 2023 season. The TSK team will also include Dwayne Bravo, who served as the death bowling coach for CSK in the IPL 2023. Another well-known name on the list is David Miller, an IPL player with the Gujarat Titans.

Ambati Rayudu had a subpar IPL 2023 season with CSK

The players selected as TSK overseas picks for MLC Season 1 are listed below.

  • Ambati Rayudu
  • Devon Conway
  • Mitchell Santner
  • David Miller
  • Dwayne Bravo
  • Daniel Sams
  • Gerald Coetzee

Ambati Rayudu tweeted to confirm his participation for the Texas Super Kings in the MLC Season 1 as well. Rayudu tweeted a photo of himself wearing a cowboy hat with the caption, "Same yellove…. Different continent… Texcited…"

Ambati Rayudu's IPL 2023 season wasn't particularly successful. In a season where he was mostly employed as an Impact Player, he only made 158 runs. He did, however, make a significant impact on CSK in the end. In a rain-shortened game, he scored a fast 8-ball, 19-run cameo to help his club defeat the 171-run mark and win their fifth IPL championship. With the victory, Rayudu tied for the most titles won by a player in IPL history with 6—three won at MI and three at CSK.

Here's how fans reacted to Ambati Rayudu's announcement:

featured Chennai Super Kings Ambati Rayudu MLC