‘Teesra match bhi aaj hi rkhwa lo’- Fans shocked as New Zealand surrender in powerplay vs India in 2nd ODI

Batting first, New Zealand had a really bad start to their innings as they have already lost their sixth wicket on the score of 56 runs

Rohit Kumar
New Update
India vs New Zealand (Source - Twitter)

India vs New Zealand (Source - Twitter)

India skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and elected to bowl against New Zealand in the second match of the three-match ODI series in Raipur on Saturday, January 21. The Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh Cricket Stadium is hosting an international match for the first time. After registering a narrow 12-run win the in the series opener, Team India now looks to take an unassailable 2-0 lead.

Batting first, New Zealand had a really bad start to their innings as they lost their fourth wicket within the first powerplay and continued to lose wickets on regular basis. Glenn Phillips, Michael Bracewell, and Mitchell Santner were the only saving grace for the Black Caps. New Zealand could only manage to score 108 runs in the first innings as they were all out in the 35th over itself.

Brilliant start by the Indian pacers

Earlier, In the first five overs, the Kiwi team was unable to score any runs as they lost their first wicket in the first over. Mohammed Shami took a wicket in the very first over as he cleaned bowled the explosive opener, Finn Allen. The Kiwi team was not been able to recover after that. Later, Mohammed Siraj, who is breathing fire with the ball these days, got rid of Henry Nicholls in the 6th over of the first innings.

Shami didn’t stop and dismissed Daryl Mitchell on the very first delivery of the 7th over. India’s star allrounder Hardik Pandya also stepped up and took the wicket of left-handed batter Devon Conway in the last over of the mandatory powerplay. Team India’s first ODI match-winner Shardul Thakur came to bowl in the 11th over of the innings and dismissed the lethal batter and the Blackcaps skipper Tom Latham and they lost their five batters on the score of just 15 runs.

India batted first in the series opener in Hyderabad where Shubman Gill‘s stunning double-century helped the team win by 12 runs. The Men in Blue, now with a 1-0 lead in the three-match series, will be aiming to wrap up the contest against the 2019 ODI World Cup runners-up in the contest in Raipur, which is hosting its first-ever international match.

Here's how the fans reacted: