'Where is Virat Kohli'- Fans outraged over Virat Kohli's absence in Indian T20 League's Greatest Batters list

The nominee list of the Greatest Batter of the tournament has triggered a debate as batters like Virat Kohli misses out of the list.

Rohit Kumar
New Update
Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli (Source: Twitter)

The 16th Season of the Indian T20 League is around the corner and the buildup for the tournament has started already. The world’s most-watched cricketing league is likely to commence on March 29 after the inaugural edition of the Women’s T20 League concludes on March 26. Meanwhile, broadcasters have announced Incredible Awards to celebrate the success of the league in the last 15 years.  

Star Sports announced the nominations 

TV broadcasters of Indian T20 League Star Sports along with ESPNCricinfo have announced the nomination list for various awards. All the winners will be announced on February 20 when fifteen years ago the first auction of the Indian T20 league took place.

Nominees for the Greatest batter of the tournament: 

Chris Gayle: The universe boss Chris Gayle was one of the greatest T20 batters in the world. He has enjoyed playing in Indian T20 League for Bangalore, Punjab Kolkata franchise. He has scored 4965 runs in 142 matches in the league. Meanwhile, he has smashed some iconic knocks including a record-breaking 175 not out against the Pune franchise in 2013.

AB de Villiers: The Portea wicketkeeper-batter AB de Villiers has earned the title of Mr. 360 because of his all-around hitting ability. Playing for Bangalore de Villiers has scored 5162 runs in 134 matches with the help of three centuries and 40 half-centuries.

David Warner: The Australian batter has been one of the most consistent overseas batters in the tournament. He has scored 5881 runs in 162 matches and is the fifth-highest run-getter in the tournament.

Suresh Raina: Playing for the Chennai franchise Raina has been the most consistent player in the tournament. He has scored 350 runs in all seasons of the Indian T20 League which he played. Raina is the highest run-getter in the playoffs of the tournament.

Twitter bashed organizers for not including Virat Kohli

Although the nominee list of the Greatest Batter of the tournament has triggered a debate on social media. The list which includes Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers, David Warner, and Suresh Raina surprised netizens as the likes of Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, and Shikhar Dhawan misses out on the list.

Notably, Virat Kohli is the leading run-getter of the tournament as he has scored 6624 runs in 215 innings in the Indian T20 League. Kohli has also scored five hundred and 44 half-centuries in the tournament. However, the former Indian Batter misses out on the list. 

A Twitter user expressing his disbelief wrote, “Where is the leading run-scorer of the tournament.”

Here are some interesting Tweets: 

Suresh Raina Indian Premier League featured Virat Kohli India Cricket News