'Ye kya baat hui' - Fans react as Rinku Singh gets overlooked for T20 squad for West Indies tour

Suryakumar Yadav has been appointed as the vice-captain of the Indian T20I team who will be travelling to West Indies tour

Rohit Kumar
New Update
'Ye kya baat hui' - Fans react as Rinku Singh gets overlooked for T20 squad for West Indies tour

After the squad for the T20 was revealed for the upcoming India tour to West Indies, the fans as well as experts were surprised that the name of the explosive middle-order batter, Rinku Singh wasn't there in the squad.

Rinku has been a revolutionary batter for Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) but was not selected for the Indian T20I team for the West Indies tour despite his outstanding IPL 2023 exploits. The 15-man Team India squad for the 5-match T20I series against the West Indies was announced by the selectors on Wednesday. The list once again omits veteran players like Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, and Ravindra Jadeja. Suryakumar Yadav will serve as Hardik Pandya's assistant in the shortest format.

Yashasvi Jaiswal and Tilak Varma, two young players who have excelled in the IPL this year, have received their first calls to the Indian T20I team. After missing the previous series, Sanju Samson, Ravi Bishnoi, and Avesh Khan made comebacks.

In particular, Rinku Singh stood out during IPL 2023 because he excelled at the challenging job of finisher for KKR and made numerous match-winning contributions. He batted largely at number 5 or below throughout the course of 14 games, racking up 474 runs at an amazing strike rate of 149.35.

When he accomplished the unthinkable and hit five sixes in the final over of a chase against Gujarat Titans to help KKR win, he played one of the best innings in IPL history this season. Everyone believed that Rinku Singh might be selected for the Indian T20I squad immediately following the IPL as they need a dependable finisher in the lineup after such performances. For the West Indies series, the selectors chose not to include him. After hearing about the situation, fans were quite discouraged and vented their feelings on Twitter.

Here is how Twitter reacted to this exclusion of Rinku Singh:







India’s T20I squad: Ishan Kishan (wk), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Surya Kumar Yadav (VC), Sanju Samson (wk), Hardik Pandya (C), Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar.


India team are scheduled to play five T20I match series which are scheduled to be played after the Test as well as the One Day International series. The T20I series will be played from August 3.

India featured Rinku Singh