The non-striker’s run out infamously known as ‘mankading’ is one of the most controversial modes of dismissals in cricket. Despite the dismissal being made ‘legitimate’ by the Apex cricket body the taboo around it hasn’t ended. Whenever the subject of non-striker’s run out is talked about star Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin’s name is mentioned as he once inflicted the dismissal on Jos Buttler during an Indian T20 League game in 2019.
Ashwin received criticism from all around the world for his actions but even now, he believes that the bowler holds the right to dismiss a batter in this manner. Recently, during the second ODI between India and Sri Lanka, Mohammed Shami also tried to dismiss Sri Lankan captain Dasun Shanaka through this method. However, Indian captain Rohit Sharma withdrew the appeal as Shanaka was batting on 98 and closing in on his hundred.
Speaking in his latest YouTube video, Ashwin expressed his opinion on the entire incident.
“See, even if one fielder appeals, it is the duty of the umpire to declare a player out if he is out. So, I find it very surprising to have so many taboos surrounding this mode of dismissal. But the entire dismissal is regarding what the bowler does, right? The right of making that dismissal or making that appeal or making that decision lies with the bowler, right,” Ashwin said.
“In so many games, a batter has nicked and walked without waiting for the umpire’s decision. At that time, the batting team captain won’t come and ask, ‘With whose permission did you walk like that? Did you forget the team’s cause? Go back and continue playing. These different treatments for bowlers and batters have been taking place for so many years now,” he added.
That is a legitimate form of dismissal: Ravichandran Ashwin
Maintaining his stance, Ashwin stressed on the fact that it all depends upon the bowlers’ appeal what makes an umpire give his final decision.
“I am going to keep repeating only one thing. The game situation is immaterial. That is a legitimate form of dismissal. And in fact, if you ask for an LBW appeal, or a caught behind appeal, nobody will check with the captain on whether they are sure of the appeal. They will give him out if the bowler appeals and that is the end of it,” Ashwin further said.
Leave a Reply