Ravichandran Ashwin reacts after Under-19 Women’s World Cup incident triggers non-striker run out debate

Rohit Kumar
New Update
Ravichandran Ashwin (Source - Twitter)

Ravichandran Ashwin (Source - Twitter)

The excitement of the Under-19 Women’s World Cup 2023 has begun. The 5th match of the World Cup was played between Pakistan and Rwanda on Sunday. Rwandan captain, Gisele Ishimwe won the toss and decided to bat first which didn't seem to be very effective. Amidst that, the Pakistan team's fast bowler Zamina Tahir came into the limelight due to a run-out.

Zamina executed a “Mankad” to run out Rwanda’s Shakila Niyomuhoza at the non-striker’s end during the match. On the fourth ball of the 20th over, Rwanda's batsman Shakila Niyomuhoza went beyond the crease without Jimina releasing the ball. As a result, Zamina ran out  Niyomuhoza for backing away too far.

However, it sparked another ‘Mankad’ debate as former Australia cricketer Mark Waugh and the likes of Stuart Broad criticized the way of dismissal. The cricketers against the dismissal have also said that it doesn't require skill to get a wicket.

Meanwhile, a user slammed Waugh, who posted a wicket England got through the batter hitting the bat of the non-striker and it ballooning up in the air to get caught against New Zealand. Indian cricketer Ravichandran Ashwin also didn’t like it and cheekily replied to the tweet taking a dig at those criticizing the non-striker run-out.

'Oppressed community' called bowlers please wake up', wrote Ashwin.

What a big insult that is to the bowler: R Ashwin

Former India bowler Venkatesh Prasad also slammed Australia’s Mark Waugh who again questioned the mode of dismissal. He gave the example of Pakistan's under-19 player. Waugh said:

“The worst thing is it seems that teams are using it as a deliberate planned way to get a wicket", to which Prasad replied,

“Yes right, Bowlers planning to get a player out by legal means is the worst thing. Batsman wanting to take unfair advantage by not staying back in the crease is the best thing."

Earlier, Ashwin also opened up about Adam Zampa's controversial run-out attempt at the non-striker's end during the Melbourne derby in the Big Bash League between the Stars and the Renegades. The off-spinner slammed Hussey for not backing his bowler after the incident.

“I don’t believe what he said. Because if you wanted to withdraw the appeal, you need not have taken that to the third umpire itself. You could have easily withdrawn that appeal even before it had gone to the third umpire. First of all, why should you withdraw the appeal? A bowler is running the non-striker out. The captain will say that the bowler is wrong or what? What a big insult that is to the bowler if the captain is withdrawing the appeal,” Ashwin said on his YouTube channel.

Ravichandran Ashwin