Watch: Pat Cummins hilarious goof up leaves Usman Khawaja in stitches during Australian Cricket Awards 2023

Australian men's captain Pat Cummins had a hilarious goof-up while opening the Australian Cricket Awards on Monday.

Rohit Kumar
Jan 31, 2023 09:43 IST
New Update
Pat Cummins, Usman Khawaja

Pat Cummins, Usman Khawaja (Source: Twitter)

The Australian Cricket awards was a grand affair on Monday which featured several star cricketers from the country getting felicitated for their remarkable performances in the year 2022. The ceremony was opened by the respective captains of the Men and Women’s teams, Pat Cummins and Meg Lanning.

The duo had a moment of awkward silence which left the entire crowd in splits right at the beginning of the ceremony. Seeing his captain fumble at the mic, Australian opener Usman Khawaja was also seen having a laugh. Lanning broke the silence and said that it was her turn to speak and welcomed the crowd and wished them good luck for the awards ceremony. The duo signed off with a burst of laughter.

Watch the video here:

Coming back to the ceremony, Steve Smith and Beth Mooney took home the highest honour in men’s and women’s cricket respectively. Smith was awarded the Allan Border medal while Mooney was bestowed with the prestigious Belinda Clarke Award.

It was Smith’s fourth Allan Border medal which makes him level with Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke who also have four medals to their name.

Usman Khawaja, who was the highest run-scorer for Australia in 2022, was awarded 'Shane Warne Men’s Test Player of the Year’. He amassed 1080 runs in 20 innings at an average of 67.50 with four hundreds and five fifties to his name.

Matt Short from Adelaide Strikers was awarded Big Bash League Season 12 ‘Player of the Tournament’ while Ashleigh Gardner from Sydney Sixers was awarded ‘Player of the Tournament’ in Women’s Big Bash League.

Tahila Mcgrath was conferred with ‘Women’s T20 Player of the Year’ award. She scored 463 runs at 57.87 in the 18 T20s she played in the nominated period, at a strike rate of 142.02. McGrath also added 13 wickets – with a best of 3-13 – at an average of 14.15 and an economy of 7.07.

Marcus Stoinis was awarded Men’s T20I Player of the Year while star opener David Warner was awarded ‘Men’s ODI Player of the Year’.

2023 Australian Cricket Awards complete list

Allan Border Medal: Steve Smith

Belinda Clark Award: Beth Mooney

Shane Warne Men's Test Player of the Year: Usman Khawaja

Women's ODI Player of the Year: Beth Mooney

Men's ODI Player of the Year: David Warner

Female T20 Player of the Year: Tahlia McGrath

Male T20 Player of the Year: Marcus Stoinis

KFC BBL|12 Player of the Tournament: Matt Short (Adelaide Strikers)

Weber WBBL|08 Player of the Tournament: Ashleigh Gardner (Sydney Sixers)

Women's Domestic Player of the Year: Annabel Sutherland

Men's Domestic Player of the Year: Michael Neser

Betty Wilson Young Cricketer: Courtney Sippel

Bradman Young Cricketer: Lance Morris

Community Impact Award: Usman Khawaja

Australian Cricket Hall of Fame inductees: Ian Redpath and Margaret Jennings

#Cricket News #Pat Cummins #David Warner #Steve Smith