Superstar Shah Rukh Khan to set stage ablaze in opening ceremony of WPL 2024, check complete list of performers

The WPL 2024 will kick off with a grand opening ceremony as Shah Rukh Khan is set to grace the opening ceremony of the IPL with his performance. Check out the full-list of stars who will perform in the ceremony.

Sarah Andrew
New Update

Shahrukh Khan to perform in WPL 2024 opening ceremony Source: 'Twitter'

The 2nd edition of the WPL is set to begin on February 23 and the excitement for the biggest women’s T20 league is palpable. The inaugural season of the WPL was fraught with exciting cricket and the 2nd edition is expected to be bigger and better.

As they say, to make something well begun is half done, therefore to make it big, the 2nd season of the WPL will kick off with a grand opening ceremony and who is better to make it grander than the superstar of Indian cinema- Shah Rukh Khan. The owner of the KKR franchise in IPL is going to grace the opening ceremony of the IPL with his performance.

The WPL official handle on social media broke the news to its fans with the caption, “Get ready, folks! It's none other than Shah Rukh Khan who will celebrate Cricket ka Queendom!" It will be a great start to the marquee event of the women’s T20 cricket and it also signifies the efforts put behind by the Indian Cricket Board to make it the flagship event of women’s cricket worldwide.

The excitement doesn’t end here as similar to the teams in the WPL, the starts list performing in the opening ceremony is also a star-studded lineup with the likes of Shahid Kapoor, Kartik Aaryan, Varun Dhawan, and Tiger Shroff who will set up the stage on fire before the women’s take the center stage.

Highlights of the tournament

The tournament will kick off with a clash between the finalists of the last season – Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals. Indian captain Harmanpreet Singh will lead the Mumbai Indians who will be up against Australia’s five-time World Cup-winning captain Meg Lanning who is at the helm of affairs at Delhi Capitals. 

This year WPL will take place in Bengaluru and Delhi. The first leg will happen at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru whereas the second leg will take place in Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi including the knockouts and finals.

The format of the tournament will be the same as last season where all five teams will compete against each other and the top three teams will reach the knockouts will the team at the 1st place getting a straight berth in the finals.  

WPL 2024 Shahrukh khan