'Kya shaandar shuruat hai season ki' - Fans react as Mumbai Indians Women win by 5 runs in last-ball thriller against Delhi Capitals Women in WPL 2024

The debutant Sajeevan Sajana scripted history for Mumbai Indians Women with a last-ball six when they needed 5 runs off the last ball in the tournament opener of WPL 2024.

Mathew K
New Update
MI-w vs DC-W, WPL 2024 (File Photo: X)

MI-w vs DC-W, WPL 2024 (File Photo: X)

Mumbai Indians Women clinched a thrilling 4-wicket win against Delhi Capitals Women in the nail-biting tournament opener of the ongoing Women’s Premier League 2024. MI-W won the match on the last ball when they needed 5 runs off just one last ball. The debutant Sajeevan Sajana smashed an outstanding and unbelievable six off the last ball to win the match for her side.

Earlier in the match, the MI-W skipper Harmanpreet Kaur won the toss and decided to bowl first; batting first, the star number 3 batter Alice Capsey played a phenomenal knock of 75 runs off 53 balls, with 8 fours and 3 sixes. Besides her, Jemimah Rodrigues also played a blistering knock of 42 runs off just 24 balls, with 5 fours and 2 sixes.

On the back of these knocks, the DC-W posted a good total of 171 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in the allotted 20 overs. Nat Sciver-Brunt and Amelia Kerr picked 2 wickets each for MI-W, alongside one wicket scalped by Shabnim Ismail.

Harmanpreet and Yastika's half-centuries followed by Sajeevan Sajana's last-ball six

During the run-chase for the defending champions, MI-W, wicketkeeper-batter Yastika Bhatia and skipper Harmanpreet Kaur scored the crucial half-centuries, hitting 57 and 55 runs, respectively off 45 and 34 balls to take Mumbai closer to the target.

Later in the last over of the match, the fans witnessed an unbelievable thriller when the debutant took the strike for the last ball of the match; it was also the only ball in the entire match which was played by the debutant Sajeevan Sajana, who came to bat at number 8 for Mumbai Indians Women.

Eventually, Harmanpreet Kaur-led defending champions continued their successful record of always winning in the run-chases in the Women’s Premier League. MI’s skipper Kaur won the ‘Player of the Match award for her match-defining and crucial half-century knock for her side.

Here’s how fans reacted to the thrilling win of Mumbai Indians Women:



WPL 2024 feaured Women's Premier League 2024