'Yeh hui na baat' - Fans react as Ruturaj Gaikwad is set to lead India men’s cricket team at Asian Games 2023

Ruturaj Gaikwad will lead India in the upcoming Asian Games. Here's the full squad details alongside how fans reacted.

Rohit Kumar
New Update
Ruturaj Gaikwad, India

Ruturaj Gaikwad, India (Source: Twitter)

The wait is finally over as the Indian Cricket Board has announced the squad for the Asian Games 2022, which will be held in Hangzou, China in September of this year. Ruturaj Gaikwad will serve as the team's captain. The men's cricket competition in the Asian games will be played in a T20 style from September 28 and will end on October 8th. The men’s team will be captained by Ruturaj Gaikwad and boasts the talents of Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Varma, and Rinku Singh among others.

Despite poor performance in the international circuit, Gaikwad has been one of the most consistent run-getters in the Indian Premier League (IPL) for Chennai Super Kings, getting the Orange Cap in 2021 and continuing his performance this season as CSK won the title, beating Gujarat Titans in the final.

Yashasvi Jaiswal could be the X-factor

Another notable name in the squad list is Yashasvi Jaiswal, the Rajasthan Royals batter who has risen to prominence after the last IPL season. With 382 runs, Jaiswal finished as the fifth-highest run-getter in the tournament and has continued to score runs, representing the country in West Indies in his debut.

One of the notable absentees from the team is Venkatesh Iyer who the fans would be thinking should have been in the squad but he has been kept on the standby list of players. This is B string side of India as the main team would be preparing for the World Cup 2023 which is scheduled to be played on October 5. Prior to this team selection, the name of Shikhar Dhawan was in the lights for the captaincy but sadly he missed the cut for the selection. It can be said that it is the end of the road for the left-hand batter in International cricket.

Indian Squad for Asian Games: Ruturaj Gaikwad (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Shivam Mavi, Shivam Dube, Prabhsimran Singh (wk)

Standby list of players: Yash Thakur, Sai Kishore, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Sai Sudarsan.

Here are some of the tweets from the fans:

India featured Ruturaj Gaikwad