ODI World Cup 2023: List of records to be broken in IND vs AUS final clash

ODI World Cup 2023, Analysis: Here is a list of all records that could be broken in the final game between IND and AUS at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Mathew K
New Update

Rohit Sharma and Pat Cummins (Source: Twitter)

The stage is set for the final of the ODI World Cup 2023 in Ahmedabad’s iconic Narendra Modi Stadium. As the hosts India take on five-time winner Australia, a galore of records are in sight to be broken on a historic day. Here is a look at the same:

For India:


  • If India prevails and adds another trophy to the World Cup titles they won in 1983 and 2011, they will become the first nation in the history of the Men’s Cricket World Cup to win the tournament twice on home soil, following their famous victory against Sri Lanka in Mumbai 12 years ago.
  • Virat Kohli, with a current tally of 711 runs, has the opportunity to extend his final figure, having broken the record for the most runs in a single men’s Cricket World Cup achieved after his 50th ODI century against New Zealand in the first semi-final.
  • Rohit Sharma already holds the record for the most centuries in Men’s Cricket World Cup history, with seven to his name. The India skipper has the chance to further solidify his position in this category if he can reach triple figures against Australia. Rohit has amassed 550 runs in this tournament and could break his own record for the most runs in a single edition of the Men’s Cricket World Cup by scoring another 99, surpassing the 648 runs he managed in 2019.
  • Mohammed Shami, with a total of 54 wickets across three different Men’s Cricket World Cups, has the opportunity to surpass Pakistan great Wasim Akram (55) and Sri Lanka's Lasith Malinga (56) and become the fourth-highest wicket-taker in the history of the event with three scalps against Australia.
  • Shreyas Iyer has the chance to join an illustrious group of Indian greats, including Sachin Tendulkar, Rohit Sharma, and Virat Kohli, by scoring 24 runs in the final. This achievement would make him just the fourth batter from his country to score more than 550 runs in a single edition of the Men’s Cricket World Cup.
  • KL Rahul, aiming to become the eighth-highest run-scorer for India in the history of the Men’s Cricket World Cup, can surpass the legendary MS Dhoni (780 runs) by scoring 34 runs against Australia.

For Australia:

  • For Australia, winning another World Cup trophy – having previously tasted success in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015 – would secure their sixth World Cup title, the most by any country.
  • Pat Cummins, with a total of 32 wickets in Men’s Cricket World Cups, can surpass fellow quick Brett Lee (35) and become the third-highest wicket-taker for Australia in the history of the tournament with four more scalps against India.
  • Adam Zampa, Australia’s leading wicket-taker at this year’s tournament with 22 scalps, could equal Mitchell Starc's record (27 in 2019) for the most wickets by any bowler in a single edition of the Men’s Cricket World Cup with a five-wicket haul against India.
  • David Warner, with six centuries in the history of the Men’s Cricket World Cup, could draw level with India captain Rohit Sharma (seven) for the most centuries ever at the event by reaching three figures in the final.
  • If Glenn Maxwell scores 101 in the final, he will become just the seventh Australian player to have scored more than 1000 runs in the history of the Men’s Cricket World Cup.
featured Australia India ODI World Cup 2023