'RCB still remain trophyless' - Fans react as Brisbane Heat get past Sydney Sixers in their own backyard to win 2nd BBL title in 2023/24 season

Big Bash League 2023-24: Brisbane Heat overcame Sydney Sixers in the final of the 13th season of the Big Bash League 2023-24. In the process, the table toppers became only the third team to win the BBL title more than once.

Sarah Andrew
New Update
Brisbane Heat

Brisbane Heat (Source: X)

Brisbane Heat ended up winning the 13th edition of the Big Bash League 2023-24 by beating Sydney Sixers in the final. Brisbane overcame all the odds and beat the home side in their own backyard. In the process, Brisbane became only the 2nd side to win the BBL for the second time after Perth Scorchers and Sydney Sixers. It was a great match for the visiting side.

Winning the toss, Sydney Sixers opted to bowl first, a decision that cost them the match. The wicket deteriorated with the progression of the match. The batters found it difficult to score runs given the nature of the wicket. The spinners in particular were highly effective as they got some turn in the wicket. Brisbane made the best use of the conditions after losing the toss.

Batting first, Brisbane lost the wicket of Peirson early. Josh Brown was joined by McSweeney and the duo framed a good partnership for the 2nd wicket. The hero of the previous match, Josh Brown, was at it yet again as he scored 53 runs in 38 balls. McSweeney scored 33 runs in 32 balls and helped anchor the innings. But the real impact in the game was provided by Matthew Renshaw.

Spencer Johnson shines in the final for Brisbane Heat

Matt Renshaw scored an impactful 40(22), which included four fours and a six. The calculative running between the wickets helped Brisbane to score 166 runs on the board. Max Bryant scored 29(19) as well. Chasing the target, Sydney lost their way rather too quickly. Daniel Hughes and Jack Edwards could not stay longer in the middle. The batters fell like a pack of cards in the middle overs phase.

Spencer Johnson then ran through the batting lineup of Sydney. The young pacer ended up claiming four wickets in his spell of four overs and conceded only 26 runs. He was assisted well by Bartlett who claimed two wickets as well. Mitchell Swepson also claimed two wickets. Matt Kunhemann was brilliant in his spell. In the end, the Heat won by a huge margin of 54 runs to clinch their 2nd BBL title.

Here's how the fans reacted to the news -



BBL Twitter reactions Brisbane Heat Sydney Sixers