Sourav Ganguly reveals why India hasn’t hosted Under-19 World Cup so far

Former Indio skipper and Indian board chief Sourav Ganguly has revealed the reason behind India not hosting the Under-19 World Cup during his chat with the media.

Sarah Andrew
New Update

Sourav Ganguly (Source-Twitter)

Team India will lock horns with Australia during the Under-19 World Cup Final on Sunday. Despite winning the tournament on five occasions, India has never hosted the event. Former Indian Board chief Sourav Ganguly spoke to Revsportz and revealed the reason behind it. 

Uday Saharan and his team beat South Africa in the first Semi-Finals in Benoni. At one stage the Indian team were struggling at 32/4. That’s when Sachin Dhas and Uday Saharan joined forces to bail their team out of trouble.

This is the third time India and Australia will meet in the finals. The last two times the two sides contested a World Cup final in this level, India had won the title. Unmukt Chand and Prithvi Shaw had led the side on those occasions. 

Sourav Ganguly reveals why India hasn’t hosted Under-19 World Cup event

Former India skipper and head of the Indian Board, Sourav Ganguly spoke to Revsportz. The conversation veered towards India having not hosted the age group level tournament yet. The 51-year-old made a blunt statement and called it a loss-making tournament. Ganguly said “There is no particular reason to it. The other World Cups are played in India. What’s wrong if this one is played in places where the senior World Cups don’t take place that often? It’s one way of taking the game to other countries”

The former India skipper also said “You can say it’s a loss-making tournament. Most World Cups not featuring the senior men’s team are non-profit. But that’s not the reason the Under-19 World Cup hasn’t been played in India. And I think it is going to be held in India” 

The under-19 World Cup has been bringing up some massive Indian stars. Yuvraj Singh, Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh, and Rohit Sharma are some of the prominent names. Virat Kohli won the tournament in 2008 which also had Ravindra Jadeja and Manish Pandey in the team. 

Shubman Gill and Prithvi Shaw are products of the 2018 campaign, while Yashasvi Jaiswal and Ravi Bishnoi are from the 2020 batch. The last tournament was held in West Indies which saw India and England contest the finals. Yash Dhull and his team won the game to win their 5th title. 

featured Sourav Ganguly