List of records India shattered in double super over win against Afghanistan in 3rd T20I

The pair not only forged an unbeaten 190-run partnership but also set numerous records in the process during the third and final T20I of the series.

Mathew K
New Update

Rohit Sharma and Rinku Singh (Source: Twitter)

The M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru witnessed a spectacle of Rohit Sharma and Rinku Singh's brilliance as they propelled India to a thrilling victory against Afghanistan on Wednesday. The pair not only forged an unbeaten 190-run partnership but also set numerous records in the process during the third and final T20I of the series. 

India found themselves in a challenging position with four wickets down for just 22 runs when Rinku stepped into bat. However, the duo stood firm until the conclusion of the innings, steering the team to a formidable total of 212 runs. They capped off the innings by scoring an impressive 36 runs in the final over.

The India skipper hammered 121 runs from 69 deliveries, showcasing his dominance with 11 fours and eight sixes. Meanwhile, Rinku Singh contributed an unbeaten 69 runs off 39 balls, featuring two fours and six sixes in his innings. Not just this but in the super over, the India skipper brought absolute carnage to the Afghanistan pace attack.

List of Records India shattered in double Super Over win against Afghanistan in 3rd T20I:

Highest T20I partnership for any wicket for India

Rohit and Rinku stitched together an unbeaten partnership of 190 runs against Afghanistan.

190* R Sharma - Rinku Singh v Afg Bengaluru 2024

176 S Samson - D Hooda v Ire Dublin 2022

165 R Sharma - KL Rahul v SL Indore 2017

165 Y Jaiswal - S Gill v WI Lauderhill 2023

Highest individual scores for India in T20Is

Rohit Sharma's unbeaten score of 121 as India's captain stands as the highest individual score by a captain in the shortest format for the country. However, it ranks as the fourth-highest individual score overall for India in T20Is, with Shubman Gill holding the top position on the list.

126* Shubman Gill v NZ Ahmedabad 2023

123* Ruturaj Gaikwad v Aus Guwahati 2023

122* Virat Kohli v Afg Dubai 2022

121* Rohit Sharma v Afg Bengaluru 2024

Most runs scored in an over in T20Is

Rinku Singh and Rohit Sharma collaborated to add 36 runs to India's final over total, thanks to a no-ball. Prior to this, Yuvraj Singh and Kieron Pollard had achieved the same feat, scoring 36 runs each. Yuvraj achieved this against England (against Stuart Broad in Durban in 2007) for India, while Pollard did it for West Indies against Sri Lanka (against Akila Dananjaya in Coolidge in 2021).

36 Yuvraj Singh off Stuart Broad Durban 2007

36 Kieron Pollard off Akila Dananjaya Coolidge 2021

36 Rohit Sharma & Rinku Singh off Karim Janat Bengaluru 2024

First-ever double Super Over in an international match

Since the introduction of the multiple Super Over rule after the 2019 ODI World Cup final controversy, more than 15 matches have concluded in ties, but it wasn't until the India vs Afghanistan clash in Bengaluru on Wednesday that a double Super Over was witnessed. The unbeaten partnership of 190 runs between Rohit Sharma and Rinku Singh in the third T20I is now the highest for any side at the 5th wicket or below in T20Is. Surpassing the previous best of 145 runs, set by Deependra Airee and Kushal Malla for Nepal against Hong Kong in Mulpani.

With the series win, India has secured its ninth whitewash in T20I cricket, the most by any country in the shortest format. Following closely, Pakistan holds the record with eight such clean sweeps. Rohit Sharma, with his 121-run knock, has now become the Indian captain with the highest runs in T20Is, surpassing Virat Kohli's tally of 1570 runs in 50 T20Is. Rohit now stands at 1648 runs in T20Is and is the second captain, after Babar Azam, to achieve three T20I centuries while leading the team.

In the third T20I against Afghanistan, Rohit Sharma equalled MS Dhoni's record of winning 42 T20Is for India. Additionally, Rohit leads the chart for the most bilateral T20I series wins for India as captain, boasting a total of 12 victories.


Rohit Sharma Rinku Singh